Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007 by Andy Beal
I’m always curious as to the junk that gets caught up in my comment filter. Today, I discovered an interesting attempt to get a comment published.
It appears that comment spammers are taking advantage of a script at Search Guild, that allows you to use their domain for redirects.
Here’s an example of how it works…
http://www.searchguild.com/redir/o.php?out=http://marketingpilgrim.co m
Now imagine that but with a site suggesting I need some assistance in the growth of a certain appendage.
P.S. I’m in no way suggesting that Search Guild is behind this.
Similar Stories in: Blogging | Forward: Email This Post
Burger Man Says:
June 28th, 2007 at 6:21 am
I am a regular reader of Search Guild (going by the name of Burger Man). I am sure that no intention was meant. I think that the script is to reduce spamming of the search guild forum itself. I have mentioned it to the Search Guild’s owner, so if it is an issue then hopefully something will be done to fix it.