Marketing Pilgrim's "Research" Channel

Sponsor Marketing Pilgrim's Research Channel today! Get in front of some of the most influential readers in the Internet and social media marketing industry. Contact us today!

Online Holiday Spending for 2007: over $29B

comScore’s results from last year’s holiday season are in: the US spent over $29 billion in online holiday shopping. This is up 19% over last year’s total.

Monday, December 10 stayed the highest single day total, keeping its “Green Monday” title. However, unlike last year, the trend wasn’t successively higher-spending Mondays starting with “Cyber” Monday and ending with “Green” Monday. This year’s top ten highest single-day totals:

Day Dollars Spent (Millions)
Monday, December 10 (“Green Monday”) $881
Tuesday, December 11 $819
Thursday, December 6 $803
Wednesday, December 5 $798
Tuesday, December 4 $776
Wednesday, December 12 $754
Monday, December 3 $753
Friday, December 7 $734
Monday, November 26 (“Cyber Monday”) $733
Thursday, November 29 $733

While three of the top ten days are Mondays, there are also two Tuesdays, two Wednesdays, two Thursdays and a Friday. It doesn’t look like day of the week is extremely predictive of the spending for that day.

Another interesting note: the latest day in the list, December 11, is two weeks before Christmas. I’m betting (as I always have) that most of us are not willing to risk our gifts arriving too late when shopping online.

Despite the fact that no single day from 2006 could make this year’s top 10 list, it’s not all good news. Chicken-Little–types will eagerly note that, while this year’s holiday spending is up 19% over last year’s, this is slower than 2006′s growth over 2005 (26%). Look out, the eCommerce sky is falling. Again.