Marketing Pilgrim's "Social Media" Channel

Sponsor Marketing Pilgrim's Social Media Channel today! Get in front of some of the most influential readers in the Internet and social media marketing industry. Contact us today!

Shared Photo Albums: Now That’s What Facebook Is For



I often complain about Facebook and their attempts to become an ecommerce site or a news site or an all music all the time site. . . .(hang on, that was MySpace. . . ) but that’s because I believe that we’re all at our best when we focus on what we do best. In Facebook’s case, that’s facilitating virtual, social interactions.

When they do that, I’ll gladly give them a thumbs up and believe it or not, that’s what I’m doing today!

Introducing: Shared Photo Albums

facebook shared albums

One person creates the album then designates other people as contributors. Those people can then add photos and voila, you have a well-rounded album that captures all aspects of your shared experience.

Imagine a family album with folks from all sides of the family adding in their photos. On the business side, you could use it to gather photos from a conference or other work event. If you have multiple locations, use it to collect photos from all of your stores. Start an album for testimonial type photos from your clients.

Just remember that when you open a part of Facebook up to multiple people, you have all new privacy issues. Here’s what Facebook has to say about that:

When you add contributors to an album, the album may be visible on their timelines. Keep in mind that anyone tagged in the photos and their friends may be able to view the album as well.

Contributors Only: Contributors and people tagged may be able to view the photo

Friends of Contributors: Contributors, people tagged and the friends of people tagged may be able to view the photo

Public: Anyone may be able to see the photo

Contributors can upload, tag photos and add other contributors. They can only delete photos they uploaded but the owner of album can delete any photo. So Facebook recommends that everyone keep copies of their own photos just in case. If personalities collide and a contributor wants to leave the album, their photos stay unless the delete them. And if you boot someone out of the group, they can still delete their photos, they just can’t add any more. (I can hear the squabbling already!)

As I was reading about this, I had an eerie sense of deja vu. Then I remembered where I’d see it before – Google+ tried it as part of their “Event” process. I remember thinking that was a cool concept at the time. Wonder if anyone is still using it. . . .

Anyway. There’s a holiday weekend coming up so that’s the perfect time to try building a shared album with your friends, co-workers and / or family. Start a “What I did on Labor Day” album then share it on your business’s Facebook Page. People like to see the people behind a company, so go for it and have fun.