Last week, we saw that Facebook was taking status updates public for selected test users (a la Twitter). Those selected users were ones that had already set their profiles to a high level of sharing—everyone could see their profiles already.
Now Facebook will make it so that all users will have a very granular control over exactly what gets shared with whom.
These settings can be applied on a message-by-message basis, but there will also be changes to the full privacy settings for every member. As paidContent points out this will eliminate the need to view at least six pages of privacy settings.
And now Facebook announces that they’ll be rolling out this change to the full site very shortly: